**Abbreviations**: References to seasonal reports in the journals *Illinois Birds and Birding; Meadowlark, A Journal of Illinois Birds; American Birds; Field Notes*; and *North American Birds* are abbreviated by IBB, MJIB, AB, FN, and NAB, respectively, followed by volume and page numbers; note that the first two issues of MJIB (Volume 1, Numbers 1 and 2) were paginated separately, not sequentially within that volume, and the journal number is included for those two issues. Months are abbreviated by their first three letters.

County abbreviations largely follow those adopted in Johnson, Deaton and Clyne (1998). The 102 Illinois counties and their abbreviations are as follows:

Morgan - MOR

Hardin = HAR

Adams = ADA	Hardin = HAK	Morgan = MOK
Alexander = ALE	Henderson = HND	Moultrie = MOU
Bond = BON	Henry = HNR	Ogle = OGL
Boone = BOO	Iroquois = IRO	Peoria = PEO
Brown = BRO	Jackson = JAC	Perry = PER
Bureau = BUR	Jasper = JAS	Piatt = PIA
Calhoun = CAL	Jefferson = JEF	Pike = PIK
Carroll = CAR	Jersey = JER	Pope = POP
Cass = CAS	Jo Davies $=$ JOD	Pulaski = PUL
Champaign = CHA	Johnson = JOH	Putnam = PUT
Christian = CHR	Kane = KNE	Randolph = RAN
Clark = CLR	Kankakee = KNK	Richland = RIC
Clay = CLY	Kendall = KEN	Rock Island = $ROC$
Clinton = CLI	Knox = KNO	St. $Clair = SCL$
Coles = COL	Lake = LAK	Saline = SAL
Cook = COO	La Salle = LAS	Sangamon = SAN
Crawford = CRA	Lawrence = LAW	Schuyler = SCH
Cumberland = CUM	Lee = LEE	Scott = SCO
De Kalb = DEK	Livingston = LIV	Shelby = SHE
De Witt = $DEW$	Logan = LOG	Stark = STA
Douglas = DOU	McDonough = McD	Stephenson = STE
Du Page = DUP	McHenry = McH	Tazewell = TAZ
Edgar = EDG	McLean = McL	Union = UNI
Edwards = EDW	Macon = MCN	Vermilion = VER
Effingham = EFF	Macoupin = MCP	Wabash = WAB
Fayette = FAY	Madison = MAD	Warren = WAR
Ford = FOR	Marion = MRN	Washington = WAS
Franklin = FRA	Marshall = MRS	Wayne = WAY
Fulton = FUL	Mason = MSN	White $=$ WHT
Gallatin = GAL	Massac = MSS	Whiteside $=$ WHS
Greene = GRE	Menard = MEN	Will = WLL
Grundy = GRU	Mercer = MER	Williamson = WLM
Hamilton = HAM	Monroe = MNR	Winnebago = WIN
Hancock = HAN	Montgomery = MNT	Woodford = $WOO$ .

## Other abbreviations used throughout are:

Adams - ADA

AOU	= American Ornithologists' Union	<b>GLPSP</b>	= Goose Lake Prairie State
CA	= Conservation Area		Park (GRU)
CAS	= Chicago Academy of Sciences	IBSP	= Illinois Beach State
CBC	= Christmas Bird Count		Park (LAK)
Co.	= County	ISM	= Illinois State Museum
Cos.	= Counties		(Springfield)
<b>FMNH</b>	= Field Museum of Natural	NC	= Nature Center
	History (Chicago)	NF	= National Forest
FP	= Forest Preserve	<b>NWR</b>	= National Wildlife Refuge
GLNTC	= Great Lakes Naval Training	SBC	= Spring Bird Count
	Center (LAK)	SP	= State Park.

"Northern", "central", and "southern Illinois" refer to specific subsections of the state as first defined by Gault 1922; see also Bohlen 1978. The terms "region" and "regional" apply to the Middlewestern Prairie Region as used in FN and NAB and include Illinois as well as Iowa, Missouri, Indiana, and most of Ohio and Kentucky.

which are now stored in Springfield, Illinois, as part of the Avian Ecology Program, Natural Heritage Section, Department of Natural Resources.

In several cases there are discrepancies between the details presented here vs. other published sources, especially regarding dates of occurrence. The data in this report provide the Committee's best assessment of all available information. We have not generally commented on records that are published elsewhere with more limited data than contained here, but we have made explicit note of apparent errors in published data. The Committee accepts responsibility for any inaccuracies or misrepresentations of information herein. Errors that come to our attention will be published as corrigenda in a future IORC report.

Documentors: Bill Atwood, Steve Bailey, Dennis Beaver, Frank Bennett, Dale Birkenholz, Tadas Birutis, Richard Biss, H. David Bohlen (HDB), Denis Bohm, Melissa Brookins, Greg Buchwald, Vicki Buchwald, Angelo Capparella, Rick Cantu (RCa), Robert Chapel (RCh), Brian Chandler, Peter Chemery, Karl David, Myrna Deaton, Danny Diaz, Carolyn Fields, Ann Harness, Roger Hedge (RHe), Kanae Hirabayashi, Mary Ann Hoeffliger, Michael Hogg, Robert Hughes, David Johnson, Dan Kassebaum, Eric Kershner, Steve Kinder, Vern Kleen, Tom Koz, Alexandra Latham, John McDaniel, Joe B. Milosevich, Keith McMillan, Rhonda Monroe, Robert A. Montgomery, Pete Moxon, Terry McNeely, Dennis Oehmke, Steve Olson, Sebastian Patti, Bert Pricen, Jim Rathert, Mary Regan (MRg), Michael Retter (MRt), William Rowe, Rick Seibert, Mike Seiffert, Al Seppi, Darrell J. Shambaugh (DJS), Jonathan Simms, James O. Smith (JOS), Jim Steffen (JSt), Douglas F. Stotz (DFS), Sheryl Swartz Soukup, M. Trapani, Jeff Walk, Eric Walters, Mike Ward, Tony Ward, Peter Weber, Chuck